What is a Team Room?

What's a Team Room?

Team Rooms are core to the Retrium experience. A Team Room is where you'll go to run retrospectives with other people, create and track your action plans, and  view your retrospective history. Each distinct team you work with will want their own Team Room to ensure the information shared is secure and only shared with the members of that group. If you're a ScrumMaster or Agile Coach that works with multiple teams, you will want to have a Team Room for each separate group with which you work.

We strongly recommend running team retrospectives consistently in a single Team Room and not creating a new Team Room for each Sprint or Project milestone (as this will unnecessarily increase the cost of your bill).

What is an activated Team Room?

An activated team room is one that has been created in Retrium and remains open and available for teams to run retrospectives. Any Team Rooms within an Organization that are not deactivated are considered activated Team Rooms. If a team member creates a new Team Room during a billing month, it is considered an activated Team Room (and you will be charged a pro-rated fee for this upgrade when the new Team Room is created). 

The cost of Retrium is based on the number of activated Team Rooms in the billing month. Because of this, only those in your Organization with Org Manager or Org Admin permissions are able to create new Team Rooms for your company. We strongly recommend you only upgrade people to either of these roles if you are comfortable with their ability to increase your bill each month.

The number of currently activated Team Rooms can be seen in the Org Settings menu. This is generally a good proxy for the cost of Retrium during your billing cycle. However, if a Team Room was activated at any point in the billing process, it counts as activated, so even if a Team Room is marked as deactivated currently, it may still be counted on your bill if it was activated at any point during the billing cycle. 

Once Team Rooms are created within your Organization, members of the Team Room can invite new people to join the Team Room. Additionally, members of your Organization (except those with the Org Guest role) can see a list of all Team Rooms in your company in the left navigation panel within the Retrium app, and they can request access to join a Team Room. When they do this, the request can be accepted by any member of the Team Room.

When you're ready to upgrade to a paid plan, you'll be billed immediately for all activated Team Rooms in your account. Therefore, we strongly recommend deactivating all test or other trial teams that will not be in use before you upgrade to a paid plan.

When will I be billed for a new Team Room?

You will be billed for all activated Team Rooms on your bill date because we bill in advance of the service. If you add a new Team Room during your billing cycle, it will be included on your next invoice. 

What happens when a Team Room is deactivated?

The deactivated Team Rooms are still available in your account, should you ever want to activate them again. Once a Team Room is deactivated, you cannot view the action plan or retrospective history and cannot run retrospectives in that Team Room.

You will not be bill for a deactivated Team Room that was not activated at any point during your billing cycle. To ensure a Team Room does not count towards your bill, just ensure it stays deactivated for the duration of your billing cycle.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us